November 19

Last Sunday, Kat and I went to see “I Kælderen,” a documentary by Ulrich Seidl showing a range of Austrian weirdoes doing crazy shit in their basements: a brass-player with a disturbing fascination with Hitler and the Nazi movement, a very odd old woman obsessed with plastic baby dolls, a shooting range owner who dreams of being an opera singer, a guy who keeps a massive snake in a glass tank, an old masochist woman who who enjoys being spanked with Toys R’ Us racquets (and with anything else, really), a guy who believes the power of his ejaculation makes prostitutes fall in love with him; and a dominatrix who keeps a big, hairy, bald naked man as her “love” slave, forcing him to lick her vagina after she pees and makes him wear 1Kg weights hanging from his testicles, among other things.

Strangely enough, some moments were actually funny but for the most part,”I Kælderen” is just plain disturbing. At some point, I found myself covering my eyes (along with half of the audience), not being able to bring myself to see that sex slave have his balls pulled up by a hook attached to a rope hanging from the ceiling while he laid flat on his back, tighten up on a table. Fucking unnerving. However, the documentary is beautifully shot and once you get past the weirdness of the characters involved, it really stands as a very well crafted piece of film.

* * * *

I signed up for gym membership on Monday and actually managed to go yesterday after work, which is an accomplishment in itself. I only did 30 minutes of cardio but nevermind that, I went to the gym! I normally don’t like gymnasiums, they are smelly and noisy and full of people that seem to be more concerned about which pose to strike in front of the mirror than actually getting any exercise done but this gym I have signed up for is different, or at least it seemed like it yesterday. It was still smelly, yes, but there wasn’t any loud techno music, no muscular guys screaming every time they lift a weight and in general, people were focused on their training routines. I liked that.

The idea is to go with my friend Carlos (who seem to be obsessed with exercising these days) two or three times a week, mostly to work on my physiotherapy but also to do some cardio and maybe, just maybe, work on my core a little bit. We’ll see about that.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

