November 10

Things are shaking up a bit. It’s mostly work-related stuff and I’m probably overreacting to it but it still makes me anxious and puts my brain in overdrive. I hate when that happens.

* * * *

Kat and I went to see three films during the first week of CPH:DOX and I have to say, most of them were very disappointing, especially one entitled “iPhoneChina”, which had a rather interesting premise: If Apple were a state, would you rather want to live in Apple or in China? I was curious to find out how the filmmaker had decided to develop that idea and what I found was a slightly pretentious film that feels as if the director went to China on holidays, shot a lot of handheld video, then came back home and decided to put together a raw film that points out a few observations (some of them quite obvious) but was too lazy to explore them further. As the film progressed, I just kept asking myself: when is this techno-futuristic bollocks going to end?

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 14.52.07

After the movie, we met up with Carlos and Marisa for drinks at Lidkoeb, a really cool bar in Vesterbro, which was actually one of the first bars I visited when I moved to Copenhagen. We had a few cocktails and decided to go home around midnight, not before making a quick stop at 7Eleven to get baby bites, a wonderful sausage roll with ketchup, which is probably one of Denmark’s greatest inventions.

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 15.19.51

Oh, and over the weekend we also saw “Jimi: All is by my side”, the Jimi Hendrix biopic, which turned out to be quite nice; Andre 3000 totally smashed it and brilliantly captured Hendrix’s charm and coolness through a very convincing performance. The movie has its flaws and if you are a hardcore fan, you will probably find it a bit frustrating, but overall, it was very entertaining.

Now, allow me to drastically change subject and draw your attention to this:

Screen Shot 2014-11-10 at 14.52.27

I might be wrong but I’m pretty sure that a bicycle helmet loses some of its protective properties when worn on top of a thick furry hat. What’s more disconcerting is the fact that there was NO BIKE! That’s right, this was just someone waiting for the bus on a sunny autumn day. Makes no fucking sense.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

