November 6

Kat and I went to see St. Vincent last night at VEGA, a beautiful venue with a fantastic sound. I had seen the band playing a couple of times before, once in London back in 2011 and this year at Primavera Sound, so I thought I knew what to expect from Annie Clark and company but last night’s set took my by surprise; no bass player, loads of synths and plenty of loud distorted guitar solos.

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 13.40.38

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 13.40.28

Compared to that show I saw at the Queen Elizabeth Hall a few years ago, St. Vincent has evolved its sound significantly and it seems to me they are going to follow on the steps of bands like EELS, who shake things up every time they go on tour, making you wonder how the hell are they going to sound next. However, as much as I like creative evolution and experimentation, I must admit I like St. Vincent early musical style better. Take “Marrow”, for example. Compare this early version of the song:

With its newest incarnation (nevermind the rant at the beginning and the messy hair):

I don’t know about you but I’ll take the first on anytime. Still, great to have had the chance to see them live again and bonus girlfriend points to Kat for enduring an hour and a half of loud guitar solos. She went through it like a boss.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

