August 1

A couple of days ago, I discovered Found Things, a website that has quickly become one of my favourites. Today, while going through it, I came across quite a few interesting posts but there are 2 that stand out right now: one that cites this article published in The New York Times, which suggest the scary possibility of us living “in a computer simulation based on the laws of mathematics — not in what we commonly take to be the real world” (holy shit!), and another one that elaborates on the importance of sleep for habits and motivation.

There isn’t any permalink to the post but it basically boils down to this:

1. If you don’t get enough sleep, you will fail at changing habits; and
2. If you have a lack of sleep, your motivation will drop tremendously.

Nothing new, I know, but it was a reminder. My body had been hinting at this for a while now but I guess that after those 2 weeks abroad, where I barely slept more than 5 hours a day, the sleep deficit has considerably grown, to the point in which I feel like I need to have a 15-minute nap every 15 minutes. Yawn.

So, starting next Monday, I’m gonna try to get my shit together and take my sleep a bit more seriously. I will also give my exercising/eating healthy resolution another shot (I did well for about 2 weeks and then failed miserably) and, in general, I will try to get back into the swing of things again. I feel like I’m eternally tired and I can’t take it anymore, enough is enough.

In the meantime, I will have a beer; I just have been offered one at work and well, I couldn’t say no.

Hey, don’t look at me like that! I said “starting next Monday”, remember?

Leave a Reply

