July 28

So, the holidays are over and I feel like I’m more tired than I was when I left. I believe the whole point of going away on holiday is to relax and rest, but for me, vacations are always about walking 8-10 hours a day non-stop, exploring new lands, so I can later brag about how amazing the places I visited were and complain about how tired I am. I can’t help it, it’s just the way it is.

In hindsight, this was a great Summer break; I got to visit Iceland, a fascinating place that offered sights I had never seen before, and got to spend a few days in Bergen, a charming little city on the west coast of Norway, which is amongst the most beautiful places I’ve been to. During 10 days, I spent most of the time on my own, pondering life and trying to make up my mind about what to eat (in most cases, this regularly led to a burger), and in the process, I realized how lucky I am, how happy I feel at the moment with the way things are, and how fucking expensive Norway is. A very enlightening journey, indeed.

I kept a short diary on Facebook, which I will copy and paste here, just for the sake of it:

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 11.52.50

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 11.52.23

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 11.51.47

Screen Shot 2014-07-28 at 11.51.29

As you can see, I kept myself busy during most of my stay. I went around the south coast and the Golden Circle; saw waterfalls, lava fields, black sand beaches, active geysers, melting glaciers, Icelandic horses, thermal pools, museums, sunshine, rain and fog, and still had time to try a great burger joint, a nice restaurant, and party with the locals on my birthday.

11

13

14

That night was particularly special, by the way. Originally, the idea was to spend my birthday on my own in a remote island and, although the idea excited me, deep down I was a bit afraid of feeling down that day, getting older all by myself. Surprisingly, two girls I know from Copenhagen happened to be there as well and in the end, my birthday turned out to be quite a cheerful celebration. I’m very pleased that’s the way it played out.

Brini and Katrin. If you ever decide to spend your birthday in a remote island, make sure these lovely girls are around too.

Brini and Katrin. If you ever decide to spend your birthday in a remote island, make sure these lovely girls are around too.

 As for Bergen, it’s just a cute little town. It has some really pretty houses and the area around the fish market is quite nice, but I have to say, after three days I was a bit bored and felt I had seen most of the stuff I wanted to see.

bergen1

bergen2

bergen3

I skipped the museums because the weather was so nice I didn’t feel like spending the day inside a building so most of the time I was out, walking around the city or laying on a park. While in Norway, one of my personal paradigms was completely shattered into pieces; you see, I always thought Norwegian girls were gracefully thin but the truth is that they are CURVY, at least in Bergen. If you like voluptuous women with beautiful features, look no further, go to Norway… you will thank me for it.

* * * *

Spent the weekend hanging out with Kat, it was so nice to see her again. She went to pick me up at the airport on Saturday morning and we spent most of the day at home, with a short football break in the evening, and yesterday we went out for a walk around town, looking for presents for her Dad, whose birthday is today. We then went to a little park behind the Parliament building, a nice quiet place I had never been to before.

We sat under a tree for an hour or so but I was so exhausted, both by the heat and all the travelling, that I kindly requested to go back home, which we did. Spent the rest of the day cleaning the apartment (I’m moving in this week and we are organizing stuff), watching 24: Live Another Day, eating pizza, drinking red wine and working on a little video project we are both quite excited about…

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

