July 15

Greetings from seat 16F of a Norwegian Airlines flight, destination Copenhagen. We are on our way home after spending a wonderful weekend in Madrid, probably one of the nicest holidays I’ve spent in a while.

Last night we saw the EELS and I have to say, what an amazing evening it was. I have seen the band once a year, on every tour since 2010, and although I was always more inclined to their heavier performances, with plenty of distorted guitars and uptempo beats, this year’s show stands proudly at the top of my list despite its mellow nature. What we saw last night at Circo Price was one of the most beautiful displays of musicianship i have ever witness, anyone who has been fortunate enough to catch the EELS on their current tour will tell you that.

The mighty Mr. E proved once again that he’s not only a great composer and performer (the sound of his voice was fantastisk) but also, one charming host. He’s funny without trying too hard and keeps the audience entertained with perfectly timed interventions that, even if they have been scripted, still come across as legitimate burst of genius.

And then, to top it all off, there was Kat. She’s really not a fan and barely knew a couple of songs, but there were certain points during the show in which I couldn’t be more happier to have her sitting next to me. She made an already wonderful evening pretty damn special.

(I turn off my iPad, try to sleep, we land. Kat’s dad picks us up, we go home, buy burgers and fries for lunch and have a nap. We wake up, I go to pick up some stuff at my place and Kat goes to her mum’s place for coffee and dinner. We come back home, I pack my bag and leave it ready for tomorrow while Kat eats peas and watches the football game. I finish packing and go back to this post)

After the show, we grabbed dinner at Pizza al Cuadrado, one of my favourite pizza joints in the entire world. Ok, that might be a bit of an overstatement but trust me, the pizzas are GOOD. We were meant to meet Rafa again but we miscommunicate and in the end we missed each other. Bummer.

After dinner, we went back to the hotel and hit the sack around midnight, only to wake up five hours later to jump on a cab and head to the airport to catch an early flight back to Copenhagen. We get here and it’s relatively sunny but soon it gets cloudy and slightly windy, just the way it should be here in Denmark. After those 35 degrees in Madrid, these twenty-something degrees are all the heat I need, at least for today…

* * * *

Off to Iceland tomorrow. I’m really looking forward to it but at the same time, I wonder if it’s been a good idea to go on my own for two entire weeks. I tend to get a bit nostalgic and heavy-hearted when I spend too much time with myself. Hopefully, this time around things will be different; I actually have plenty of reasons to be happy these days and this might be a chance for me to reflect upon what has happened lately and the plans I have for the near future, catch up with the book I started reading a couple of months ago and basically try to get inspired by the Nordic landscape, which I’ve heard it’s mind-blowing.

I’ll keep you posted.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

