June 24

I have realised that Kat and I are pretty good at making Sundays better than they already are by default. Seriously, we’re great at it. Last weekend, for example, we managed to get up relatively early and despite the crap weather we embarked on a journey to Klampenborg, north of Copenhagen, for a day out in the wild. Kind of.

After spending half an hour at the main station trying to figure out what train to take, we finally did and half an hour later we were walking along Bellevue Strand, a really nice beach featuring a complex of apartment buildings, a restaurant and a theatre designed by Danish architect Arne Jacobsen. He designed the lifeguard towers, bathing cabins and kiosks, too. It looked beautiful, even with apocalyptic rain clouds overhead. We sat on a lonely bench for a while and just enjoyed the view. I like the sea, I could spend hours just staring at it.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.21.45

Then we walked all the way up to Bakken, the world’s oldest amusement park. I had been wanting to visit it since I moved to Copenhagen but never really forced myself to do it. I just couldn’t be bothered to go on my own. However, when I mentioned this to Kat, she thought it could be a great Sunday plan so we went for it, and you know what? I’m quite happy that we did. The place itself is not particularly amazing, especially if you compare it with modern amusement parks, or even Tivoli, but that’s exactly what I liked about it. It felt like stepping into a massive time machine, hidden in the middle of the woods, ready to take you back to an analogue era in which fun was uncomplicated and a ride involving a bunch low-tech, flying boxing kangaroos was thrilling enough to keep kids entertained for a few hours.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.21.55

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.21.25

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 13.31.02

In the age of immersive video games, 3D smartphones and curved OLED 4K TVs, I suppose most people would find an old amusement park like Bakken somewhat dull but I gotta admit it, I enjoyed walking around the park, taking it all in; the ride signs, the prizes, the game design behind certain attractions, the visitors… it was fascinating. I guess that having Kat telling me all about it from an historical perspective* and dropping a few funny childhood stories along the way might have helped, too. I would have happily gave away my kingdom for a chance to stand at a safe distance from the spinning teacups ride and watch her throw up all over the place.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 11.21.05

We walked around the park for an hour or so, and then went for a walk in the woods. The original plan was to visit some castle that Kat wanted me to see, but we couldn’t find our way so in the end we decided to sit on a bench and have lunch in the sun instead. It was lovely. Then we took the train back home, got some warm clothes on and took over the couch for the rest of the day, watching World Cup matches, eating pizza and drinking cola, just as it should be.

* * * *

Yesterday I bought 3 t-shirts from the Tenacious D website, just today I compulsively bought 10 shirts/t-shirts from ASOS and I somehow managed to fall in love with some Nike trainers I now desperately want to buy. I have no fucking clue of what’s happening but this is ridiculous! I mean, come on. Ten shirts? Really? The worst thing is that after I placed my order, I stayed on the website and saved 10 items I don’t really need to my wishlist, which I know I will end up buying sooner or later.

Screen Shot 2014-06-24 at 13.40.55

Online shopping, I really HATE you.

(*) Get a girlfriend that knows a lot about everything, it’s damn sexy.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

