June 17

pagina-facebook-pelea-tetas-590x263

Yesterday, my friend Rafa decided to start a Facebook page entitled “Pelea de Tetas” (“Tits Fight”) to challenge Facebook and its unacceptable tolerance towards “Dogfights”, a page that shares disturbing pictures and videos of bloodied dogs, torn apart in illegal fights. Despite hundreds of complaints, Facebook has refused to shut down pro-dog fight pages, presenting the following argument:

O9EMLUp

However, it took Facebook only a few hours to send Rafa four warnings demanding him to close down “Pelea de Tetas”, which had managed to get 20,000 likes within a few hours. He refused, of course, so eventually Facebook took it down and suspend his account for a day. Isn’t it mad?

A Facebook page that has the following description: “Legalize dog fighting. Pets are not people. They are your pet. something you own. If i’m not mistaken when you own something you can do what you want with it” and shows pictures of mutilated dogs… yep, thumbs up. That’s perfectly fine ;-)

Innocent pictures of beautiful women proudly displaying their God-given round, perky, mind-blowing breasts… WHAT? NO FUCKING WAY, YOU SICK PERVERT! TAKE THAT SHIT DOWN RIGHT NOW OR YOU WILL SUFFER EVERLASTING ISOLATION AND WILL BE SHUT OUT OF MARK ZUCKERBERG’S MAGNIFICENT EMPIRE AND THE GLORY OF HIS MIGHT! >:(

10448196_10152460178372110_3525753646651627582_n

Fucking ridiculous. And a bit upsetting, really. I hope this can be taken further but even if it doesn’t, it has already made an important point and proved that simple, brilliant ideas spread quickly and with the right people backing them up, have the potential to become a major pain in the arse.

Update: apparently, the “dog fights” page has also been taken down but someone else (or the same asshole) has started a new one with the same sick pictures so, if you fancy supporting this noble cause, feel free to use the hashtag #TetasVSPerros and jump on the TeamTits bandwagon. Together, we can heal the world and make it a better place, for you, for me and the entire human race… ok, I’ll stop now.

Go back to what you were doing, I’m off to have some lunch.

* * * *

I have been doing some progress on my holiday planning. Just yesterday, I managed to book 5 nights in a 4-bed room at Bergen Vandrerhjem Montana and bought some hiking boots I will need for some of the tours I’m planning to do in Iceland. One is “The Original White Night Hike”, which was suggested to me by one of my co-workers, and the other 2 day trips I found through KEX, the hostel I will be staying at in Reykjavik.

There are a couple of tours they offer that I’m quite interested in but going through their website today, I noticed something suspicious.

Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 13.50.57

Do you see it? No? Look a bit closer.

Screen Shot 2014-06-17 at 14.02.20

I wonder if this is Kexland’s unusual marketing strategy to win some costumers over or if it’s just a cheeky webmaster having a little bit of fun behind their client’s back. In any case, signing up for a tour provided by a travel company who has decided to group all its offerings under the “tourist trap” category doesn’t make me feel particularly reassured.

In the end, I’m sure I will go ahead and book the tours anyway, they are relatively cheap and quite convenient as they depart and return to the hostel I will be staying at but I think I will send Kexland an e-mail with these print screens, out of curiosity, just to see what they say about it. I will keep you posted.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

