June 11

It’s hot in Copenhagen today and I’m not sure I like it; it’s not even really sunny outside, just cloudy, rainy and very warm, which means you either wear a t-shirt and get wet or wear a rain jacket and sweat a lot. It’s stupid.

The good news is that I’m seeing Iron Maiden tonight. My friend Andre, who works for Arch Enemy, has put my name on the guestlist for the first day of Copenhell, which will also have Anthrax, Black Label Society and Monster Magnet taking over the stage this evening. I’m quite looking forward to it, especially because it’s been a while since I saw Andre, a guy I met back in 2001 on that same heavy metal trip in which I met Ross. Last time we met, four years ago, we got drunk at Crobar in London and I remember going back to my place at 2am and spending the rest of the night and part of the next day throwing up, sweating and shaking. So, here is a piece of advice: do not drink with people who spend most of their time touring the world with a heavy metal band, they cope with the intensity of the life on the road by consuming large amounts of alcohol between gigs, which results in them developing an overwhelming tolerance to it. Consider yourself warned.

* * * *

Here a few pictures I took in Berlin:

Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 13.15.03

Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 13.15.12

Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 13.13.53

Screen Shot 2014-06-13 at 13.13.43

Reunited with my friend Felix after 2 years, drinking fine german beer and remembering the times in which we used to make offensive jokes in the most inappropriate places

Reunited with my friend Felix after 2 years, drinking fine german beer and remembering the times in which we used to make offensive jokes in the most inappropriate places

I still have pending to write about the Black Sabbath concert, I will try to get that done over the weekend and will try to upload some of the pictures I took in Berlin, too. Hopefully, I will be able to throw in something from tonight’s shows at Copenhell and make it the most heavy metal blog post ever.

Trust me, I have the fire. I have the force. I have the power to make my evil take its course.

number-of-the-beast-o

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

