May 27

Hello from seat 25A of a Vueling flight, destination Barcelona. If I was seated in First Class, I could probably tell you where exactly the plane is currently cruising over but Vueling, being the low cost airline that it is, only provides you with a safety instructions manual, a less than average food menu and a white paper bag you are most welcome to puke in if your body ever feels indisposed during the flight. No fancy screen showing the plane’s progress in real time, no outdated movies to watch, nothing. Just you, the sky and the sound of a hundred people snoring and chatting, with the occasional baby’s cry in the background.

Screen Shot 2014-06-03 at 13.28.53

It feels good, though. To be on holidays. Last time was in December 2013, when I did Copenhagen-London-Caracas to spend some time with my family during Christmas and New Year’s. It was a long trip, as it always is, but totally worth it. Since then, I had stay grounded in Copenhagen, busy doing what your average grown-up does, I guess. This year, however, I looked up in advance where exactly all the Danish holidays were placed in the calendar and managed to plan little getaways around them. This is one of them. It has been a while since I last visited Barcelona and the Primavera Sound had booked some of my favourite bands for this year’s festival so I thought it wouldn’t hurt to spend a week on the beach, seeing concerts and catching up with old friends.

Oh, the captain has just encouraged us to turn off our electronic devices and get ready for landing.

I will continue this later.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

