April 16

A very slow start of the week. Most people at work are off for the Easter holidays so the agency is empty, quiet and there’s not much to do, really. It’s a real shame to be stuck in a desolated office doing nothing when outside is so bright and sunny; I could be laying in a park, enjoying a nice coffee in a terrace or cycling around town but instead I’m sitting at my desk, bored. To make things worse, I have read that AC/DC might be retiring very soon due to Malcom Young’s illness; there has been no official announcement yet but there is rampant speculation about the band calling it quits during the next few days, which means I might never get the chance to see them live. Just the thought of it brings tears to my eyes.

Screen Shot 2014-04-16 at 12.05.12

What’s really sad is that I could have seen them play at least a couple of times in the last few years but, for one reason or the other, I just couldn’t get my shit together and missed them. The first chance I had was in 2009, when they played River Plate stadium in Buenos Aires, one of my favorite cities and one in which I have many friends. If I had planned in advance, it wouldn’t have been hard or expensive to fly there, I just heard about the show when it was to late to sort something out. I know, I’m a fan and I should find out about these shows way in advance but I simply didn’t. When a friend told me about it, just a week or so before the gig, tickets were sold out and flights fully booked or overpriced so in the end I didn’t go. What did I miss? Well, just have a look:

Mind-blowing, isn’t it? Argentinians are the best crowd in the world, period. I went to see Pearl Jam in Buenos Aires back in 2005 and that has been the craziest audience I have ever seen at a music show, it was insane. Having the chance to see AC/DC there would have been absolutely fantastic. I mean, look at all those maniacs jumping and screaming and bursting with joy! That was a one in a lifetime experiences and I missed it.

Then it was the “Back In Black” anniversary show at Donington, in 2010, which I missed because I was too busy sorting my visa, packing things up and getting ready to move to London. This was just bad luck and there wasn’t much I could have done about it. My visa was still being processed and I had a flight ticket for July, a month after the show. This was a major blow, not only because AC/DC was playing but also because Rage Against The Machine (whom I might not get the chance to see again either) was on the bill too! It’s probably been the best Download Festival in years and I was stuck at home, wishing teleportation was a reality. If it wasn’t because I knew I was going to move to London, I think I would have spent the rest of my days sobbing in the bathtub, naked and curled up in the fetal position, thinking of all that could have been.

Imagen

I have played the entire “Live at River Plate” show today in the office. People gathered and watched in awe.

However, after I moved to Europe, I always thought I would get one more chance to see them live; they just had to go into the studio (which they were supposed to do this May), record a new album and hit the road again. Then I could plan my way around the continent, maybe catch them on tour in a few cities, and finally tick that box off my list. But now, in the face of all these rumours, hope fades and a light feeling of sadness settles in. It’s strange how music can affect us in such ways. It’s not a tragedy, and there are definitely way worse things one could go through but still, I’m sure I will always look back and wish I had seen these fellas on stage and experienced their music live. To me, it’s like having a dog, living in London or dating a girl with big natural boobs; you know, it’s just one of those things anyone should get the chance to enjoy at least once in their lifetime. Right now, the odds are against us but maybe the Gods of Rock will give us one last chance to see the mighty AC/DC smashing it on stage. Let’s all keep our fingers crossed.

In the meantime, I’m off for a massage. I sure need it.

* * * *

UPDATE: There might be hope…

Screen shot 2014-04-17 at 13.51.12

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

