January 31

After five days, I’m still feeling a bit run down. The sneezing is gone, the coughing has almost disappeared but the congestion is still giving me a hard time, triggering intermittent headaches that feel like ninja kicks to my temples. The weather hasn’t got any better, either; just as we speak, snow is falling from the sky in great amounts and the thermometer shows we’re now at minus three degrees (although it feels much colder out there). In fact, according to the Copenhagen Post, the sun has made its way through the winter clouds “for only seventeen hours since the start of the year, making this the dreariest January for some 26 years.” Seventeen fucking hours in a whole month! You kidding me? No wonder why I’ve felt so tired these days.

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 14.12.26

Yesterday, I found a few post-its on my desk, next to an apple that I have been planning to eat for about a week now. At first, I thought it was just a silly joke but further inspection revealed a beautiful surprise: turns out the little post-it notes are part of an intriguing story penciled by the one and only, Fergus Kenny.

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 14.10.21

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.03.59

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.04.16

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.04.32

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.04.49

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.05.14

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 14.10.08

Screen Shot 2014-01-31 at 13.05.28

I love Fergus, he’s one of the people I really connect with here in the office. He’s wise, funny and Irish. What’s not to like? We’re always discussing strange topics and coming up with crazy ideas I wish we had the time and energy to execute. Most of them are pretty ridiculous but some of them could actually be worth pursuing. Like a short film about an apple that goes rotten; just imagine beautiful shots of a ageing pink lady, and a voice over that thoughtfully reflects on the lonely fruit’s inevitable death as the days go by.

Yeah, I like that…

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

