November 15

Usually, when wasn’t able to post on the blog, it used to be because I couldn’t be bothered to sit down and write, not even a few lines, but this time around my absence has been totally justified: I have been busy.  Busy watching documentaries, drinking beer, dancing in the wee hours, drawing naked people and, in general, enjoying myself in Copenhagen.

On Saturday, I went to CPH:DOX with Tina and Laine, a couple of girls I met through Couchsurfing. We went to see “Cutie and The Boxer”, a documentary about Ushio and Noriko Shinohara, two Japanese artist who met at New York’s vibrant art scene in the 1970s. If you have the chance, go see the film; it’s a charming (though sometimes upsetting) love story.

After the film, we went for a coffee at Sort Kaffe og Vinyl and then Tina and I went to Christiania to meet up with my friend Carlos for a bit of Science and Cocktails, one of my favourite events in Copenhagen. The talk, entitled “How Music Evolves”, was given by Armand Leroi; author, broadcaster, and professor of evolutionary biology at Imperial College in London, who took inspiration in Alan Lomax’s “Cantometrics” to develop a better system that allows him to analyze large data banks of songs, looking for patterns in music to try to understand its evolutionary process. Really fascinating stuff.

The cocktails were pretty good, too. They always are. We had three of them and then headed to Mojo for a bit of live blues. I had never been there before and, apart from the fact that the bar is really smoky (one of the things I really hate about Denmark is that you’re allowed to smoke in really small places), the bar is quite cozy and the atmosphere very lively. Carlos left about an hour later but Tina and I stayed, smashing the dancefloor until 3am. It was great. We cycled home singing Copacabana, like this.

I spent Sunday at home, couldn’t be bothered to go out. Well, I did, briefly. I was supposed to go to IKEA to buy a bed (my mattress has been on the floor for a month now, just because I couldn’t be bothered to dismantle my old bed frame when I moved out) so I showered, put some clean clothes on, and 5 minutes after I left the house, I felt like going back and lay on the couch again. So I did.

Fast forward to Monday. I was supposed to meet Carlos and Jana at Paludan Cafe but I couldn’t make it on time so left the office and went straight home. The next day, I met Ana to go see “Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train Comin'”, which I didn’t like that much. It was great to see some of the footage and interviews with Jimi, but the documentary wasn’t as comprehensive as I thought it would be. I guess I wanted to know more about what happened outside the stage, what other musicians at the time thought of Hendrix (they say Pete Townshend started his trademark windmill move in an effort to “compete” with Jimi’s electric stage presence) and why not, a story or two about his well-known excesses. All in all, I enjoyed the film, just not sure if it was worth the money.

On Wednesday, I met up with Carlos and Bettina at The Living Room for a quick drink and yesterday I met up with Tina again, to go to a live drawing session in Christiania. Arash, a guy from Couchsurfing, invited us to this place where people gather every Thursday, from 7 to 9pm, to draw naked bodies. Well, just one body, really: the one of a young man. It was my first time and to be honest, it wasn’t as glamorous as I thought it would be. I also got a bit frustrated with my drawings and started to mind-wander after a while. Maybe 2 hours is too much, but in general, I quite enjoyed the experience. Tina and I are planning to go there regularly, let’s see if we manage.

After the live drawing session, we went to this really cozy jazz bar in Christiania, which I visited shortly after I moved to Copenhagen. I don’t know what the name of the place is but it has red lights, a small stage, and cheap beer. Just what we needed. Unfortunately, it seems that sometimes there are also obnoxious drunk farts. Just a minute after we sat on our comfy couches, an obnoxious old man engaged Tina in a conversation and she just went with the flow. Somehow, the conversation escalated very quickly and all of a sudden, this guy was telling her he hated Americans, Germans (Tina is German), Jews and children. He started shouting at the band, too. It was a pain in the arse. I was going to tell him to fuck off but Tina didn’t wanted me to, instead she suggested us to ignore him. We tried but Arash couldn’t help himself from being nice and kept talking with him, until we decided it was enough. Tina politely asked him to leave and surprisingly he did, without much complaining. We had a drink and then we went home.

Today, the Statens Museum for Kunst has another SMK Friday so I’m meeting Carlos and Bettina later on to have a drink and wander around the museum, it’s usually pretty good on days like these…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

