October 25

Met Nada and her friend Esther last night for a drink at Cafe Deb Blå Hund and mostly chatted about our frustrated music careers (each of us tried to learn how to play an instrument when we were kids but neither of us ever managed to do it properly and eventually gave up), about theatre (Nada apparently was pretty good at it), about fancy costumes (I, of course, talked about my Prince of the Class outfit) and traditional Christmas desserts. It was a short but sweet night out.

Today, I’ve spent most of the day working on a über cool LEGO project that without a doubt it’s the most exciting project I’ve ever worked on since I started in Advertising. I’m super thrilled by it. Working on LEGO is a challenge, mostly because I’m very new to the whole kids universe, which has enormous opportunities but also many limitations. There is a wide range of elements I’m not familiar with but I have the fortune to be working with some really clever and experienced dudes that are slowly introducing me to the basics of it. They are an inspiring bunch.

Over the last few days, I’ve been reflecting a lot and realized how lucky I am for being where I am, doing what I do. Sure, at times I still wish I was in London; there are lots of people and things I miss about that wonderful town, but I’ve also come to appreciate the way my life is developing in Copenhagen. I live in a place I’m pretty happy with, I’m getting excited about work again, it seems like my social network is finally taking shape and although there are a few gaps still waiting to be filled, the overall feeling I get every time and take a moment to ponder my situation is that I’m one privileged motherfucker. And for that, I’m hugely thankful.

Last night, I facetimed with Ram to wish him a happy birthday and he told me how he found a bit scary to be 34 years old and not having a fucking clue of what to do with his life, which made burst into laughter because I haven’t got a clue of what I’m doing, either. I’m taking things as they come and although that’s everything but reassuring, I have discovered that there’s no point in making plans either, so I guess that I will carry on with this sort of existential blind date and hope things work out.

It’s Friday, I’m off for a drink…

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

