Never Forget

Friday night and I went to bed before midnight, I must be getting old. Good news is I woke up this morning feeling like going for a walk so I cooked myself a champion breakfast and jumped in the Tube to go all the way to Victoria Station, and from there, walked to Westminster Cathedral, a place I use to pay a visit every now and then. This is probably the only church I’ve been to since I moved to London and for some reason, I keep going back to it. There’s something about it that I like. I actually remember going there almost a year ago, on April 22 in the morning, in a similar head space as today’s, looking for a little bit of Divine encouragement… I needed it then and I sort of needed it now so I decided to pop by and spend some quiet time with my thoughts and hopes.

Shortly after, I met Ross and his girlfriend for a walk around Soho and along the way we discovered the most amazing gelateria ever: it’s called Scoop and it rules. I had a small cup of Cioccolato Fondente (which apparently has some venezuelan cocoa in it) and Biscotto, the two together make an ace combination. Give it a try if you ever go, you won’t be dissappointed. Anyway, we finished our cups and hit the streets again, only to stop 5 minutes later to get into this very nice second hand shop called Reckless Records, packed with some amazing vinyls. I saw a mint copy of Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid” (pressed on 180-gram heavy vinyl, whatever that means) priced in 12 quid, which is not bad, and a BB King’s greatest hits collection in 4 pounds, which I hope to get tomorrow when I go back to the shop to have a proper look at the records they have on sale. I tell you, having a turntable is more exciting than I thought.

As we walked around Soho, I also discovered this lovely comic shop called Gosh!, which I also want to go back to when I have a bit more time. It has a pretty gay name (as you would expect, considering where’s located) but make no mistake, the stuff they have inside is fantastic. On the counter they had the first two issues of The Comix Readera publication defined by its creators as “Underground Alternative Independent Satirical Carnivalesque Comix Entertaiment”. Pretty cool, uh? I barely browsed through one of the issues so I can’t really tell if the actual content is any good (the illustrations and style of it are very nice, though) but I did see the price and I must admit that I was quite surprised: each issue is £1. One pound? For a very decent piece of art, that’s a bargain. Further research led to this:

Comix Reader #3 Exhibition and Launch Party, Friday 2nd March, 7pm

“The Comix Reader is in part an attempt to recapture some of the free spirit of the underground press, and is also an experiment in publishing : 9,000 copies paid for and distributed by the artists. Printed on newsprint and costing only £1, it’s accessible to fans of the art form and hopefully also intriguing to people who might not have read many comics.”

In other words, for only 3 pounds I can get the whole collection AND free drinks. I love these guys already. If my stupid attention deficit doesn’t betrays me, I will make sure to go to the Launch Party, take some pics and write something about it especially for all of you, millions of people around the world, reading this blog. In the meantime, I would share with you a couple of websites I’ve been digging lately; some of you might be familiar with them already but I hope that at least one of you haven’t heard of them and find them as exciting and inspiring and addictive as I do. The first one is ConsumeConsume, a collection of images that range from interesting, funny or breathtaking to disturbing, shocking or very very odd. Sometimes it’s everything all together. Click on the link, I bet you can’t help to browse through all its 88 pages in one go.

The other one is called fuck you very much and it’s absolutely gorgeous. Basically, it’s about two friends who keep a visual diary and use pictures they find all over the Internet to covey their thoughts on everything, a very simple idea that works beautifully. I was showing it to one of my housemates today and when she saw the February 13 entry, she remembered this video about a couple of guys who bought a lion cub at Harrods, back in 1969, and decided to take him home. They nurtured him but he quickly became too big for their flat so they tried to reintroduce him to Africa, which they managed to do, and a year later they wanted to visit him but they were told the lion, a grown-up by now, was too wild and wouldn’t remember them. They didn’t give a fuck and decided to go anyway…

Now, I must be quite sentimental these days but I think this piece of footage is incredibly moving. It made me ponder for a minute the passing of time and how it affects us, how it might or might not change us, but mostly, it made me think of how those unmatchable bonds we get to establish with certain people could actually survive distance and time, laying there, latent, just waiting to sparkle again. Somehow, I found myself relating to that.

Right, enough of this already. Go back to whatever you were doing, I’m off to check if I still have a penis and a pair of testicles.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

